top of page
Writer's pictureTina Hyde

Beef, Bean and Cheese Quesadillas Paired with: Nefarious

Updated: Aug 1, 2023

This looks like comfort food. It kind of is.

Stay tuned until the end of this post where I rate Nefarious but never give any real spoilers.


Okay, I could not resist another recipe with cheese. But, these quesadillas have lots of protein and is simple to make, all you need is listed below.


Ingredients


  • 1 lb. ground beef

  • kosher salt

  • Freshly ground black pepper

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

  • 1 onion, diced

  • 1 tbsp. Taco Seasoning

  • 2 tbsp. tomato paste

  • 8 oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained

  • 2 avocados, pitted and diced

  • 1/4 c. chopped fresh cilantro

  • 4 tsp. canola oil, divided

  • 4 large flour tortillas

  • 8 oz. shredded white Cheddar

  • 1 lime, cut into wedges

  • Sour cream, for serving


quesadilla recipe ingredients on kitchen counter.
Ingredients

I doubled the recipe and made small adjustments according to what I had on hand. The beef broth I like to add instead of water. Of course, you can always put whatever you want into your quesadilla.



Directions for Beef and Bean Quesadillas:

I stole these instructions from somewhere but only because there's quite a few steps. Easy ones !

  • Step 1:

In a large cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat, brown beef, breaking up with a wooden spoon. Season with salt and pepper. Sauté with garlic and onion until softened, 3 to 4 minutes. Add taco seasoning, tomato paste, 1 tbsp water and black beans; cook on medium-low for 5 minutes. Turn off heat and mix in avocado and cilantro.


Beef, bean, avocado and cilantro mixture in skillet on stove.
Meat, Bean and Avocado

  • Step2:

Warm a large non-stick pan over medium heat with 1 teaspoon oil. Place a flour tortilla in the pan and sprinkle half with cheese, beef mixture and more cheese. Fold tortilla over and fry lightly on both sides until cheese is melted. Repeat with remaining tortillas. To save time, use two non-stick pans.


This step took a while because I only used one nonstick pan but also because I doubled my recipe. Those quesadillas cook quick though, so watch out!


  • Step 3:

Cut quesadillas into wedges and serve with lime wedges





These beef, bean and cheese quesadillas really hit the spot Monday night. It wasn't the best ever but they were good. I'll probably try another one at some point.

I'll try and simplify my recipes going forward as well.

Everyone really enjoys them because they're meaty, crunchy, cheesy and all that. Eat it with a beer or something that's what I did. Also, some salsa, sour cream and a movie...



 

Nefarious


This movie I gave a try on Netflix. It's a 2023 horror type and seems like a psychological, paranormal thing with angels and demons. Watch out for my spoiler where I tell you about the main plot but I won't reveal any endings. Most of the movie takes place in one room and there's a lot of talking between the inmate who's possessed and the lawyer who decides if he's crazy or put to death.


I liked the movie, but I'm one of those that likes the talking in one room for a whole movie and psychological back and forth. If you like that then this film is for youuuu.


Rating: 3 stars


Comments


bottom of page