top of page
Writer's pictureTina Hyde

Salmon and Chai Tea and Flash Gordon

Here's another blog post where I give some simple meal instruction. Nothing special because I'm not a chef nor have I had any professional culinary experience. I'm just a person who looks the recipe up on the internet which you could also do easily. I'd like to throw in some additional information with these meal suggestions. I'd also like to make it as easy as possible.


Have some Salmon and season it with some spices that everyone has.


Salmon Recipe:

All I do is thaw the salmon if frozen, and then lay them out and sprinkle a few different spices on top. I chose:


  • Onion powder

  • Garlic powder

  • Paprika

  • Seasoned Salt

  • Thyme

  • Cumin

Online I saw that celery seed, allspice, and smoked or sweet paprika are really good to add onto the seasoning. But I didn't have those things.

I did not measure my seasonings I just added each one and heated a cast iron skillet at medium heat. Add the salmon skin side up with olive oil and butter. Cook for about 4 minutes then flip with metal spatula and cook another 3 minutes or so. Squirt it with some lemon too. But beware acidic lemon juice may affect your cast irons' seasoning.



I read that the salmon should still be slightly pink on the inside but I guess it's up to you how you like it. I love rice with my fish, I use Jasmine rice. A cup of jasmine rice with a cup of water into a pressure cooker makes it perfectly and is enough for about three servings. I also like to serve it with peas but I didn't have any so I used cauliflower to replace it and everyone hated it. So peas and rice is better and really good and mega simple.



 

Have some Chai Tea


I've been reading about tea and how to serve it, how to make it. My daughter is a huge fan of Chai tea and also Japanese culture. We've been drinking tea out of coffee mugs but I recently went to my first tea room and realized the atmosphere was brilliant. These tea sets and ceremonies are historical and cherished with a sense of meditation or nostalgia, not to mention the fun and delight you feel when playing with these seemingly foreign rituals.


So I got us a tea set.



When I was searching for a tea set on Amazon I was not a fan of all the flower patterns. I wanted something more unique so I went to eBay and found this for only $40. Then I needed a small china cabinet so my grandmother helped me find this at a local resale for also $40. It has lighting!


We really like to play board games and having tea while we do that just adds to the experience. Online it says that typical tea time is between 3:30 pm and 5 pm. If you're drinking caffeinated tea I think it's a nice way to get a little energy to finish the day in between meals. This is a fun ritual that you can tailor to your preferences. Pick your tea set and set a vibe, pick your tea and learn how to make it.


I learned that there are different types of tea pots so serving the tea is different for each one. I have an electric tea pot and I boil water in it but I have no idea what the temp is because it's cheap. My new tea pot is where I pour the boiling water where I place the tea bags inside and then serve from the pot after it steeps

(5 min for Chai tea). Anyway, it's fun. Plus they are so nice to look at.


I loved the way it looked so much that I felt pretty inspired to paint it.


Water color is my new favorite thing!


 

Watch Flash Gordon


Have you ever watched Flash Gordon? What about He Man? I mean the cartoon version of Flash Gordon where he reminds you an awful lot like He Man and all the voices and characters are the same... But Different. I realized last night that I love it and will be watching it while I paint my pictures.


I also realized that Flash Gordon's comic strip first appeared in the 1930's and this cartoon was made in 1979, same time as He Man practically. But I think that people got a lot of ideas from Flash Gordon and I suppose there was something that came before Flash as well that inspired that creator. You can watch it for free on Tubi. I just wanted to throw that in before I signed off. Here's a water color picture of Ming the Merciless.



Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page