top of page
Writer's pictureTina Hyde

The Southwest Diner, Survivor: Season 32, and Random Cat Drama



You don't always have to cook, or want to cook or be good at cooking.


Sometimes it's best to let someone else do all the cooking. Or sometimes there's a really cool restaurant nearby that you didn't know exists. And sometimes you have to look around at some of the less obvious locations and try something new in order to find something real special.


Over the weekend I was in the St. Louis area and I was on a mission for breakfast.


I was looking for an iHop on the maps, but instead I found something else. Southwest Diner on Southwest Ave, St. Louis, MO. This place has about 4 1/2 stars on Google search. It's only open from 7AM- 2PM and serves some seriously interesting and delicious breakfast/ lunch items all southwest style. Not to mention the hole in the wall vibe, interesting decor, cool music and eccentric employees. This place was a whole pleasant experience.



You can order coffee, bloody marys, CBD infused drinks, and just about anything else. Along with your choice of breakfast or lunch items with that southwest flavor. We ordered an iced coffee, regular coffee, New Mexican Breakfast Burrito ($7.75) and the Grits on Fire ($12.50). Those Grits on Fire had so many layers to it. Cheesy, stone-ground grits topped with Carne Adovada, red chile, corn, 2 eggs and queso fresco. The burrito really hit too.


Everything was really good and filling. We sat at the counter watching the wait staff hustle back and forth while looking around at the roadrunner/ jackalope art on the walls. I wish I could remember the music they were playing but I don't. I just remember enjoying it.



We will be going back and we will get more adventurous with our orders next time. I want that bloody mary!


But don't go there thinking you'll be in and out because it's a busy place and you'll want time to sit, conversate, play solitaire on your phone to pass the time, and enjoy the atmosphere.

 

Survivor Season 32!


The other part of my weekend included binge watching Survivor.



I know it sounds like such an old show but it's still going! I think season 32 aired like 5 years ago but I have not watched this show in a while. And let me tell you the drama is REAL. The cool part is that you don't have to start from the first season, you can choose any season and watch it from start to finish. And believe me, you'll be wanting to watch it from start to finish in one day because that drama really be grabbing your attention.


I was looking for something to binge with a buddy and the last thing like this we watched together was Physical: 100-- thats the one I was hoping would have a new season. Survivor has a similar physical competition aspect but also adds more psychological warfare and drama that fills you with life and excitement... and sometimes rage from all the backstabbing. So if you're into that kind of thing then this show is so for youuuuuu.



 

A Random Cat


If TV shows don't add enough drama and excitement to your life here's this option: Adopt a kitten!

Remember that keyword-- KITTEN. Don't go out there and get tangled up into adopting a full grown cat that looks like a kitten. Check the kitten for older cat attributes like boobs, and a super chill mom cat attitude.



I say all this because of my recent experience adopting kittens from someone online. The photos were okay, two small girl kittens, not a great photo actually you couldn't see their faces ... but hey they looked like kittens.


The guy's name was Mark and he had one big problem. He was in the hospital with kidney stones and couldn't meet us, so he got his brother to do it for him.


No problem, we meet and he hands over one small cat with similar markings but only one because he couldn't catch the other. I said that's totally fine we probably don't need two kittens anyway! Looks enough like the photo I guess. Half the kitties half the drama and excitement.


I'm telling you this cat is SMALL and we got it all the way home, named it, gave it a bath, set it up in a chill spot and when I say this cat is RELAXED I mean it sits quietly, naps a bunch, and rubs all over giant dogs like it's seen some stuff. Has a giant dog tick and looks a little on the rough side actually.


Then I get a phone call. It was Mark in the hospital with kidney stones. He asked if we've figured out that we've got a full blown cat yet. He said he just knew his brother was going to mess this up and he did. He gave us the mom cat and the 8 week old kittens were still there at his house.


I laughed my butt off and wondered how I could have possibly accepted this cat was a kitten all this time. We've been bonding with Orphan the full grown cat that looks like a little cat. But just look at it.



We "named" her Dottie the mom cat. She will be going back home, with a trade for her kittens. This must be the youngest mom cat I've ever seen. She must have gotten pregnant at like 6 months old or something.


Mark the cat dad said it may be a few days before we can trade cats because he's trying to pass kidney stones... He felt pretty bad about it too. So now I have to take care of this random cat until Mark is released from the hospital. But at least she's really sweet and cute. And poor Mark.





1 Comment


Angela La Ronge
Angela La Ronge
Aug 08, 2023

Oh what a great episode! You sure tell a good story Tina!

Like
bottom of page